‘Shelter in Place’ order from San Francisco and Bay Area officials

By: Madison Macay

Six Bay Area counties, including Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Santa Clara, San Mateo, and San Francisco are being ordered to ‘shelter in place’. Law enforcement will be “ensuring compliance” with the order, beginning at 12:00am March 17th through April 7th.

According to the San Francisco Chronicle, all six counties total over 6.7 million people. Bay Area residents are not under full lock down, however, San Francisco mayor London Breed said in her press conference Monday afternoon “With exceptions for essential outings.” This comes after a surge in Coronavirus cases in San Francisco, with 9 new COVID-19 cases, bringing the city’s total to 37 on Sunday.

The San Francisco Department of Public Health released this photo for a better understanding of the ‘shelter in place’ order.

Leave a Reply